Meme from MN Mom

I don’t often do memes anymore (who am I kidding? I don’t often do POSTS anymore!), but Minnesota Mom tagged me today, so I decided to play along. Here are the rules:

1. The rules of the game get posted at the beginning.
2. Each player answers the questions about themselves.
3. At the end of the post, the player then tags five people and posts their names, then goes to their blogs and leaves them a comment, letting them know they’ve been tagged and asking them to read the player’s blog.
4. Let the person who tagged you know when you’ve posted your answer.

What were you doing 5 years ago?

We were planning a trip to Hawaii to celebrate the fact that it wasn’t 2002 anymore. That’s the year when my cancer came back, and we lost our cocker spaniel Chloe and J.P.‘s dad.

(Do you like how I turned that into a question about what I was doing six years ago?)

What are five things to do on your to do list for the day?

- Get my port flushed. Yes, I still have it after being cancer-free for six years. (Done.)

- Do laundry. Last load is in the washer now, waiting for the dryer to finish the previous load. Bzzzzzzzz! The buzzer literally sounded just as I typed that last sentence.

- Do dishes. Our dishwasher decided that it didn’t want to hold water anymore, and we’ve got some stains on the hardwood floor to prove it. So we’re doing them by hand until the new one arrives. (Done.)

- Call Lowe’s to find out when the new dishwasher will arrive. Their store advertises installation within 72 hours if you purchase an in-stock item on a weekday. We did—on Tuesday night. When I hadn’t heard from the installers by this morning (to even schedule the install), I called and asked how they were going to make their 72-hour guarantee. The guy pretended he didn’t know what I was talking about. I explained that I had seen a sign about it in their store and he said, “Oh that must be for other appliances.” Me: “It was hanging BY THE DISHWASHERS.” Him: “Let me call them.” Later, he called back: “How’s late morning tomorrow?” Me: “Excellent!”

- Pick up a take-n-bake pizza and go see the new Narnia movie.

What are five snacks you enjoy?

- Pudding. I’ve been buying the 100-calorie snack size. Yum! Totally worth 100 calories.
- Cheese and crackers. Sometimes this is a meal.
- Cereal. MN Mom mentioned Quaker Oatmeal Squares, and I love them too! The BS flavor (that’s brown sugar, you know).
- 100-calorie Lorna Doones or chocolate animal crackers.
- Peanut butter Kandy Cakes from Tastykake. I don’t go out of my way to get them, but if J.P. brings them home I have a hard time resisting.

What five things would you do if you were a billionaire?

- Buy a second home in a warm climate.
- Learn more about and get better at photography.
- Support charities we believe in.
- Travel.
- I’m not sure what else.

What are five of your bad habits?

- Staying up too late.
- Spending too much time on the computer.
- Being late. I’ve always had a hard time getting up in the morning, so have always been a little on the late side for early appointments. But since I married J.P.? I’ve become terrible about it at all times of day.
- Not cleaning when the house really needs it.
- Biting my cuticles.

What are five jobs you have had?

- Cashier at a grocery store.
- Telemarketer for my college’s alumni association.
- Dish room worker at the college dining service.
- Nanny.
- Gift store worker in an amusement park (for one month!).

What five people do you want to tag?

I’m not going to tag anyone, but feel free to participate if you like.

Enjoy the long weekend, and take a few minutes to think about why you have an extra day off work. Check out William’s post if you haven’t seen it already.

Posted in Memes. 9 Comments »

9 Responses to “Meme from MN Mom”

  1. The Q Says:

    My SIL bites her cuticles. The first couple times I saw her doing it, I was so confused. I could tell she wasn’t biting her nails (my Ex used to do that….down to the bloody quick. ICK!) but I couldn’t tell what she was nibbling on either. So now I know TWO people who do that. I imagine there are many more out there ;-)

    Cheese and crackers are totally a meal in my book.

  2. tysgirl Says:

    When will you get your port taken out?

    I LOVE the 100 calorie pack pudding, Tapioca is my favorite!

  3. Lola Says:

    I tagged you for this meme, too (though unsure whether you even read my blog regularly), so I’m just going to pretend you’re really doing it in response to me :o)

  4. shari Says:

    Add a glass of wine, and you have most of the major food groups represented with cheese and (whole grain) crackers. I declare it a meal.

    The whole not cleaning the house thing? Totally with you on that. It’s just such a pointless task sometimes, because within an hour, you can’t tell I cleaned it anyway… so… it’s a lot more fun to read to C, or hop on the computer.

  5. certainabsurdity Says:

    Hmm… You didn’t include CFS in your past jobs… :) It seems like forever ago.

    I think Chloe was my favorite dog, ever. You know that says a lot coming from me!

  6. minnesotamom Says:

    Wow–I’m a bit amazed that you still have a port, too. Although after watching my Dad get his put in, it’s probably not something I’d want to go through twice, either, so I can understand…

    I always love reading about other people’s jobs, for some reason. YOU were one of those annoying people who call begging for money from people’s alma maters! Ha! I’m pretty sure I did that for a day or two specifically for the music department. No…it was recruiting. Similar. :)

  7. William Says:

    Thanks for the link Sharkey. For the fifth thing you could do if you were a millionaire…give some to me.

  8. Mainline Mom Says:

    I’m with you on the not cleaning…which is why I have a cleaning lady now!! Man is she awesome.

    Peanut butter Kandycakes are da BOMB. I cannot have them in my house. I stick to the pudding snacks too, although I think my sugar free ones are only 60 calories! They are good too! Cheese and crackers is COMPLETELY a meal.

  9. Essayer Says:

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation :) Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Essayer.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

