The day

In Catherine's room

You may remember a few months ago when I mentioned my niece’s surgery. As you can tell from the photo, it was today. (If you missed it, details are here and here.)

Everything went well. It took less than 90 minutes, and the doctors were pleased. She was pretty loopy when I saw her this afternoon, but when we went back tonight her IV was out and she’d been up walking around. And she ate and ate and ate!

There’s talk of letting her come home tomorrow. Character Builder‘s staying the night with her, and CB’s husband and I will probably head back to the hospital in the morning after we drop the chatterbox off at daycare.

Thanks, everyone, for your good thoughts and prayers today—we really appreciate them. If you have any left, send them up for the one-month-old with two bad kidneys who shared Catherine’s room in the PICU. One thing you learn from an experience like this . . . no matter how bad things seem, there’s always someone who’s going through something worse.

UPDATE: She’s home! Currently lying on the couch with a big blue Icee and some saltines.

18 Responses to “The day”

  1. von Krankipantzen Says:

    Well, as sucky as I imagine the surgery was I am really glad it all went smoothly and your little Love-Bug is doing well. Whew! And YAY! Gently hugs to her and some to you guys as well.

    Hmmm…that cat looks a little familiar…

  2. Ern Says:

    I’m glad things are going well. Good thoughts for continued healing!

  3. tysgirl Says:

    YaY for C! I’m so glad things went well. She must have been so frightened!

    Please give my love to everyone.

  4. Susie Says:

    First, I’m so thankful and happy for this good news. Second, your last sentence really struck me — I just woke from a dream in which I quoted my husband’s great grandmother: “If everyone in the world got together and put their troubles in a pile, after looking it over, you’d take back your own.”

  5. Philosophical Karen Says:

    Love the calendar. Love Susie’s quote. I’m so glad everything went well. Hugs all around.

  6. CircusKelli Says:

    I’m so glad it went well! Good thoughts and prayers for your family!

  7. Peachy Says:

    Great news! Glad to hear everything went well. Hugs and prayers all around.

  8. The Q Says:

    I’m so happy everything went well! What a huge relief. I know she’s going to be so happy to be home (as will everyone else).

    How sad about the one month old baby. Just so sad :-(

  9. kat Says:

    Popped over from Futs…

    YAY – so glad it all went well! Hugs to C and to the rest of the tired, yet exuberant relatives. Good wishes still coming!

    Blow a kiss to the baby next door for me.

  10. oddmix Says:

    I am very glad she is doing well. I hope she gets home soon! Prayers will continue from here!

  11. Ortizzle Says:

    Glad to hear the surgery went well. Sending good vibes your way for a speedy recovery.

  12. kcinnova Says:

    What great news! And I’m always willing to praise & pray.
    I just read the original story and the update over at CB’s blog. I need to put you both on my blogroll so I remember to check in often. Esp. since I’m rarely on twitter.

  13. MrsDoF Says:

    Such a fine thing to read, that an operation is done and the patient recuperating nicely.
    Although I would not choose a blue Icee–yuck.

    Crossing fingers for baby in the next bed.

    oh, and what Susie said about the troubles is a parallel quote from my grandma

  14. William Says:

    I hope all is still well after the surgery.

    I hope all is well with you as well.

  15. mrtl Says:

    Just read everything. Wow. Hope Catherine and all are doing well.

  16. UCM Says:

    Awesome! What a relief and an absolute blessing!

  17. shari Says:

    Thinking and sending good thoughts your way. Oh, and some hugs, too.

  18. shari Says:

    Um, Shaw-key? I know you’re busy and all, and I totally get that, but… do you think you can post us some more Maggie pics or something soon? Kthxbai. ;)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

