Now I get it

I’ll be the first to admit that I’m a little slow sometimes. No matter where I turn, someone’s bashing Internet Explorer in favor of Firefox, Safari, or one of the other browsers that’s out there. Several months ago, I downloaded Firefox onto our desktop PC. I played around with it a bit, but didn’t understand what was so great about it.

I shrugged my shoulders and went back to using IE since that’s what I have to use at work, and didn’t think much more about it. But now that I’ve been using the MacBook for a month? Oh my gosh! After my big move over the weekend, I knew I still had some work to do. But I didn’t realize how much until I hit my site from the office today. It looks horrible in IE! (And also, I’m now just a little bit addicted to tabs.)

At some point, I’ll have to see what I can do about that. I’m afraid it might involve spending the $15 to upgrade WordPress so I can access and modify the CSS. Or you know, you could switch to one of the other browsers, I’d save the 15 bucks, and all would be well with the world. Whaddya think?

8 Responses to “Now I get it”

  1. Suzie Says:

    I’ve used Firefox exclusively for many months. I didn’t realize your site looks like sh*t in IE or I would have TOLD you.

    I only use IE when certain features aren’t available in Firefox, but I hate being forced to “stoop down to that level” 😉

  2. Lola Says:

    …Or you could register your own domain and install WP there. Then you have total control. http://www.sharkeymalarkey.com is available!
    (Just don’t go with the place we host the band website – ugh!)

  3. undercovermutha Says:

    Nah, just get everyone to convert to Firefox. That’d be SO much easier. 😉

  4. Karen Says:

    I don’t miss the tabs, Sharkey. I didn’t know you had them. When I come here, I just read your posts and enjoy them. 😉

  5. Lazy Lightning Says:

    Just make em switch. I put an annoying message in mine that pops up telling people that my site looks so bad BECAUSE I.E. sucks. Also, IE hasn’t released a new version for Mac in over three years. Do not TELL me you are using it on your mac – gross! Firefox. FIREFOX!!!!!

  6. Sharkey Says:

    LL, no, no, NO! No IE on the Mac. But I do have it on my work computer. It’s our company’s standard, and I have no choice in the matter. Plus, as an instructional designer who writes web-based training, I love it that we only have to test with a single browser. Even if it is IE.

  7. dashababy Says:

    Neat. I have IE and I don’t notice anything different 🙂
    Happy Wednesday Sharkey Girl.

  8. eclectic Says:

    Ditto what Dashababy said.

    I’m not even sure what IE, Firefox and the other thing you said, actually ARE. As long as I can get to your page and read it, I’m happy.


Leave a Reply

