What is it with September 12?

Do you remember when you were a kid, and your parents would say things that would make you mad or unhappy? You know, “parent” things:

  • When complaining that my sister was doing something to bug me: “She’s only doing that because she knows it annoys you. Ignore her, and she’ll quit.”
  • At a relative’s house for Sunday dinner: “I don’t care if you’re not very hungry. You’d better eat now, because I’m not fixing anything when we get home.”
  • “Well at least eat the meat.”
  • “Because I said so.”
  • “Life isn’t fair.”

Back then, I vowed never to say such things to my future children. But there’s a reason why these phrases have survived the test of time. Either because A) they’re true, or B) parents don’t know what else to say in those moments of frustration, and their own parents’ words slip out of their mouths before they can stop themselves.

My mom’s favorite phrase was the last one: Life isn’t fair. We learned that one early, and we heard it often. Those words haven’t been far from my mind in the last week or so.

Mom called last Tuesday night. They think her (ovarian) cancer is back. She’s having surgery today, and will be in the hospital for 5-7 days. Depending on what they find, they may want to do more chemo and/or radiation.

She had plans for this fall. She was going to come out for a visit with me and J.P. She was going to take a trip to Salt Lake City with her sisters to visit some longtime family friends. She had all kinds of plans. Plans that will have to be scrapped, or at least put off temporarily.

If you’re so inclined, I’d really appreciate it if you’d send up a few prayers, good thoughts, vibes . . . whatever you want to call it . . . for Lurking Lucy* today. Because life isn’t fair.

*Click here if you want to read the post that goes with her comment.

***UPDATE***
Mom came through the surgery pretty well. The suspicious spot on the CT scan did turn out to be cancer. But they got it all, and they didn’t find any anywhere else. So the news was as good as could be expected. Thanks for your good thoughts and prayers today. Stay tuned, and please keep ’em coming—chemo and/or radiation are probably in her future.

13 Responses to “What is it with September 12?”

  1. Suzie Says:

    CRAP! No life is indeed NOT fair. I’m so sorry and I will send you every good vibe and then some. GAH! Life doesn’t have to be fair but some times it sure seems more unfair than it should be. Please keep us posted (if you don’t mind). I’ll be thinking about your Mom and your entire family.

  2. mainlinemom Says:

    Damn that sucks. Life certainly is NOT fair. I’ll be prayin.

  3. undercovermutha Says:

    Prayers for Lurking Lucy on their way up, pronto! Whew, September sucks big time. Thinking of you all…

  4. In other news… « Undercover Mutha Says:

    […] Thank you so much for your kind thoughts and prayers. They mean so much to me, and the thought of SpyGrandpa having something potentially worse than was thought was weighing heavy on our hearts. Now you, in the back, direct all those thoughts and prayers to Susie. She’s still on the wrong side of diagnosis…as in undiagnosed.  *UPDATE* AND for Sharkey’s and Character Builder’s sweet mama having surgery today for ovarian cancer after (they think) it came back. In other news… […]

  5. oddmix Says:

    I am very sorry! I will certainly pray for her.

  6. Karen Says:

    Oh, I am so sorry to hear that. I hope and pray that all goes well.

  7. Von Krankipantzen Says:

    Poor mom. This just sucks. I’ll send healing vibes her way.

  8. tallulah Says:

    My Mom is a cancer survivor (twice!) I’m sending good thoughts your Mom’s way.

  9. Susie Says:

    Praying, Shawkey. I’ll keep Lurking Lucy on my List.

  10. CircusKelli Says:

    Sending some hugs and prayers and good wishes your way. Please distribute as you see fit.

  11. amy Says:

    sorry i am just reading this now! but i will send up some retroactive prayers for youse anyway, it can’t hurt, right?

    hug to you, and your momma too.

  12. Ern Says:

    Prayers from me as well. For her and for all of your family.

  13. Peanutt Says:

    I hope all is well. I will keep your family in my thoughts and prayers!


Leave a Reply

