The jumble in my brain

Toy

So many tidbits to write about tonight . . . .

I’m taking a photography class on Monday nights. Initially I wasn’t too impressed. The instructor is a wedding photographer, and I’m sure he does a great job. But the class is two and a half hours long, and the first night he didn’t even really have anything planned. We all just asked him questions. I was a little leery that all the sessions (eight total, plus a field trip) would be like that, but this past week was a little better.

And I can’t complain. Since I’m going to be missing a few classes, I emailed him to ask if he could schedule the portrait session for one of the nights I’m there. He did! And he drew up a syllabus for the remaining weeks, even though he said he wasn’t going to. I think I may end up learning as much from some of the people in the class as I do from him, so that’s good too.

The image above was taken for class. It’s supposed to demonstrate the rule of thirds. I’m not sure how well I did on that part, but I don’t think the shot itself is too bad. I set it up with my new backdrop, so that was fun.

I’m debating whether we’ll have enough room in the car for the backdrop for our trip to Minnesota. Oh, didn’t I tell you? We’re leaving for Minnesota on Saturday. My mom and step-dad could use some help while she recovers from her surgery, so J.P. and I are headed that way, probably for a few weeks. We can take our work with us, and they had an extra phone line installed, so we’re all set. Hopefully Maggie won’t revolt when it’s time for her to get in the car.

Friday is J.P.’s birthday. If you have a minute, stop by and wish him a happy one.

8 Responses to “The jumble in my brain”

  1. Cherie Says:

    Great pic! Hugs to you and to mom and step-dad. They are in great hands.

  2. undercovermutha Says:

    Aw damn. Can you link to the picture?

    Have fun in MN! Maggie, be a good girl.

  3. Sharkey Says:

    UM, are you saying you can’t see my pic above? What’s up with that? You’ve probably already seen it, anyway–it’s in my Flickr stream.

  4. Karen Says:

    That’s great that you can take your work with you so you are available to help out your mom. (Best wishes for a quick and easy recovery, Sharkey’s Mom.)

    Not sure what to say about the photography course. Sounds a little less organized than the one I’m taking now. We are starting right from scratch (last week we talked about loading film, heehee). But it’s okay. We shall progress.

    Oh, and I hope you found room to pack your backdrop for this trip. 😉

  5. Suzie Says:

    Have a safe trip! Please tell “Lurking Lucy” that she has a lot of weirdos wishing her well…ok, maybe I’m the ONLY weirdo, but still you get my drift.

    I wished your hubby a happy birthday per your request….however, had I known AHEAD of time, I would have sent him a card. Oh well, there’s always next year 🙂

    Smooches to Maggie please.

  6. eclectic Says:

    You’re leaving? But what about my separation anxiety?? 😉 Have a good, safe trip, and hope you’re mom recovers swiftly.

  7. MrsDoF Says:

    Good Wishes for all–JP, traveling, Lurking Lucy, Maggie, and picture-taking.
    ~~love and Huggs, Diane


Leave a Reply

