Face of Hope

msn

You know, for some reason I really hate it when bloggers write posts to tell me to go read a post they’ve written on another site. Occasionally I’ll click the link and read the story, but I usually don’t.

Today the shoe is on the other foot, and I’m pointing you to a site where I’ve written something.

A few weeks ago, Sarcastic Journalist sent me an email to let me know that MSN was looking for women to tell their breast cancer stories. I emailed the contact person, she sent me some questions, and I sent my answers back along with some photos.

They selected my story along with seven other women’s, and they’re all featured in the Lifestyle section as part of the Breast Cancer Awareness Month coverage. I’m not telling which one is mine because you should read all the stories. Besides, if you’ve spent any time around here, it won’t take you long to figure it out.

If you’ve ever wondered what my first name really is, or if you’ve wondered what I look like, now’s your chance to find out!

13 Responses to “Face of Hope”

  1. blurry eyed Says:

    Wow, Sharkey. I didn’t know all the details of your story before. I’m so glad you kicked cancer’s ass. You’re an inspiration and I’m really proud to be able to say I “know” you.

  2. Lazy Lightning Says:

    I went and read all of them. What a scary thing…

    And you have very pretty eyes btw!

  3. Suzie Says:

    I’m going to read your link ABSOLUTELY, POSITIVELY! I was in Flickr this morning (I go there first now) and I saw this picture.

    You are such a rock star!! 🙂

  4. Suzie Says:

    Holy CRAP! I’m totally crying at work (yes, I had to do a few things before I could set aside some time to read through the stories).

    I can honestly say that meeting you/knowing you has been one of the coolest things for me. You truly are an inspiration.

    I love the picture of you in the shades 🙂 My comment about you being a rock star is validated now.

  5. undercovermutha Says:

    I was 1.3 seconds into your interview when I started bawling. Penny Poo did it. It was a fantastic article.

    I’m not ashamed to say that this is my second bawling session today. The first was while I read Dori’s story.

  6. Von Krankipantzen Says:

    That is so cool. You are totally famous now!

  7. Cherie Says:

    You are one of my favorite people for so many reasons and the list continues to grow.

  8. eclectic Says:

    I think you shoulda told ’em your real name is “Shawkey”. Thanks for telling your story, and for being a reason for hope and perserverance against this disease. No, really… thank you.

  9. william Says:

    I never realized your history. I amazed by your strength.

  10. mainlinemom Says:

    WHOAAAAA!!! It’s YOU! COOL.

  11. amanda sue Says:

    it was awesome to “meet” you on that site. i would have known that was you even without the background knowledge – your pictures were the best! 🙂

  12. Mir Says:

    You are beautiful. 🙂 And your story is eloquently shared (there, and here). Thanks for letting us in.

  13. mrtl Says:

    thanks for sharing this – wow


Leave a Reply

