Picky, picky

Ever have a day like this?

In my last post, I mentioned the WordPress template that I was using, and how I hated the way it cropped my photos. Basically, the main column wasn’t wide enough to accommodate the standard medium-size photo from Flickr (500 pixels wide). So I selected various other templates to see if any of them would give me a little more room.

Girl in Green is INCREDIBLY wide. But it has a couple of drawbacks. First of all, it has a girl in the upper right corner. And while I do have dark hair, I’m thinking that’s where the similarities end. And secondly, the grey content area has flowers that remind me of the adhesive no-slip thingies that were attached to our bathtub in the 70s. I could live with the flowers, but it must be a semi-transparent layer or something because they also appear on my images and make them look washed out.

greengirl.jpg

So let’s see what else we’ve got. Hmmmm . . . Connections isn’t bad. I can’t change the header, but it’s wide enough and I like the green all right. Oh, but wait. Do you see that?

connections.jpg

The comments link is at the top of each post. I hate that. Why would you put it there? You read, read, read, scroll, read, scroll, read. Then you have to scroll, scroll, scroll, scroll back up to leave a comment. Since I don’t often read a post from beginning to end and then comment on my own site, it’s not that big a deal to me. But I hate it when other people’s templates are like that, so I won’t do that to you. Plus, I like it when you leave comments, and don’t want to do anything to discourage them. Next!

Here’s Jentri. The description says “smart and sophisticated.” I like that. The burgundy’s nice. And it uses a Squidfingers background. I like that too. Plus, the comment link is at the bottom.

jentri.jpg

Do we have a winner? Nope. Again with the cropping (which isnt really noticable here because the Lauren photo has a portrait orientation). Sigh . . . .

I think it may be time to go with the political template. Don’t expect to see donkeys or elephants, or red and blue around here anytime soon. Nope, the political template is like the political candidate you may be voting for in a few weeks. You don’t really like him, but he meets some of your criteria. Basically, he’s marginally better than the other guy and you think you might be able to live with him until something better comes along.

Ladies and gentlemen, I present Fleur de Lys. Notice that the comment link is right down there in the lower right corner. See it? Now go ahead . . . click it! And let me know what you think.

17 Responses to “Picky, picky”

  1. Lazy Lightning Says:

    I use “scattered”, but I have to crop all my pictures to 475 wide. This looks nice. I rather like “girl in green” too, but then, I think those retro flower things are cool!

  2. Sharkey Says:

    LL, I could live with the flower things if they didn’t affect my images. But they make everything look like it has a film on it.

  3. blurry eyed Says:

    First I would like to apologize to you for my comments link being at the top. I actually liked that about it, but I’m very sorry you hate it. I hope it doesn’t stop you from visiting. *sniff*

    I do use the connections theme, though, and I was able to change the header. I think it has a link where you can choose your own image and then you can make the text they’ve included invisible. There’s nothing I can suggest about the comments though.

    After saying all that I do like this template you’ve chosen. The colours are nice, clean and simple. I’ve never been a huge fan of the Fleur de Lys, but it doesn’t look too bad here. 🙂

  4. Karen Says:

    In Blogger I usually have to go into the template and modify the widths to accommodate the size of photograph I use. My main blog, though, is not quite set up properly for Flickr photos. I’ve decided to live with it, because it’s a non-standard template and I don’t want to mess with it. (Luckily, it doesn’t crop the photo, it just makes it jut out over the line.)

    If I were stuck, I’m sure I’d do what you did. You can always look into changing the banner, if that appeals to you. This template has a nice clean look to it, though, easy on the eyes. In the end, that’s what matters, I think.

  5. Sharkey Says:

    Blurry, no apology necessary. I hope I didn’t offend you by saying that. Some would say that I’m a little . . . um, particular when it comes to details. I’m probably the only one who even thought anything about it.

    I can change the Connections header, you say? Hmmm . . . maybe I’ll have to look into that.

    Karen, I used to modify the widths in Blogger too. But with WP you can’t do that. It doesn’t even tell you how wide the columns are, so I had to just experiment with every one.

    I suspect you haven’t seen the last template change.

  6. eclectic Says:

    I miss the shawks!

  7. Suzie Says:

    This template reminds me of the Boy Scout (or is it Cub Scout) logo. I’m sure it looks nothing like that though actually. I wasn’t a Boy Scout or a Cub Scout (for obvious reasons).

    I’m sure you’ll find something you like Miss Picky 🙂

  8. undercovermutha Says:

    I immediately had to run out and see where my comments were…and they’re on top and bottom! Whew! Of course, I can hear you cussing me for instigating the blogger to wordpress move.

    It’s okay, I’ll still love you if you cuss me.

    I miss the Sharks, too. Of course, the picture cropping doesn’t bother me one bit because I can never see your pictures, although I can see these because you uploaded them to wordpress. YAY!

  9. Cherie Says:

    Hmm I am finding it difficult to comment. For one because the way your photos were cropped never bothered me. They all looked great and I would have no idea (especially not being a blogger) how time consuming it was to get the photo as close to how you wanted it but still not just right. I could use this opportunity to discuss your er how did you say it…’particular’ nature when it comes to details. But I won’t 🙂 So, it is difficult to ‘vote for’ Ms Fleur de Lys when it seems to lack a bit of the Sharkey personality I appreciate so much. But if you’re happier then by all means count my vote! It meets much of the criteria.

  10. Sharkey Says:

    ‘clectic, I miss the shawk too. And I paid good money for him! Okay, it was only like five bucks. But still!

    Just when you think it’s safe to go back in the water . . . the shawk will return.

    Suzie, now that you mention it, I agree. This look is fine, but it just doesn’t feel like “me.” I don’t think I’ve finished tinkering, but I was getting tired of it. Someday . . .

    UM, I wonder if it’s something with your browser settings? Can you see other people’s Flickr pics on their WordPress blogs? I’m not doing anything special or different than I did when I used Blogger.

    To everyone: Does anyone else have trouble viewing my pics? Or is it just a certain Undercover blogger who shall remain nameless?

  11. undercovermutha Says:

    Right, if you recall, I also had the same problem with the Blogger blog. It’s just you, babe. 😦 At least I still have Flickr.

  12. william Says:

    I liked the Shark…anyway to sneak that in?

  13. dashababy Says:

    Looks ok to me. This one is slightly snazzier with the colors and such. I like it. Your flickr link is fancy, I haven’t seen one like that before.

  14. Von Krankipantzen Says:

    This fleur is on the Quebec flag. Very French Canadian. Oooh lala.

    You pick which one you like the best. I’ll be around no matter what.

  15. undercovermutha Says:

    This template is quite lovely.

  16. mainlinemom Says:

    I must have missed something becaue right now the comment link is back at the top. And I too hate the comment link being at the top. Otherwise this template is ok, but it’s awfully dark… I just wish I could move my whole blog over to WordPress. Alas, I would have to make a break and start all over.

  17. dashababy Says:

    Yep, comment link is at the top. Whoa did you have me confused for a minute but that isn’t too difficult these days.
    Personally, I’m not crazy about the black/dark background, kills my eyes. Your pics look better tho, not all cropped and small. Jus lettin’ ya know 😉


Leave a Reply

