No turning back

The more I know, the worse I get. Have you ever had that experience?

I’m really enjoying my photography class, and I’ve learned a fair amount in addition to what I’ve been learning online (Flickr discussion groups, Strobist, and Photodoto are some of my favorite haunts). I *think* I’ve moved beyond the Knows Enough to be Dangerous stage in a lot of ways (but really, how dangerous can you be with photography?).

Now I’m in the phase called Recognizes Imperfections But Not Until After the Shutter is Clicked. I’m getting better at identifying the good and bad qualities of an image, but usually after it’s too late to do anything about it. Why does it always happen that the subject’s best facial expressions happen on the shots where the lighting isn’t quite right? And why are their eyes closed on the ones that are perfectly exposed?

In tonight’s class we learned some Photoshop stuff. Oh. My. Gosh. When I got home I started working on a self-portrait (plus Maggie!) that I did yesterday, and I think I took about 10 years off the age of my face. It’s still me, but wow. Oh, to look like that again! I also worked on some other images, but think I might’ve been a bit heavy-handed. It gets to the point where I work on something so much that I don’t trust my own judgment about its appearance.

So I figure that my only hope is to keep plugging away, trying to improve my photography and Photoshop skills until I can see my images for what they are instead of what they could be.
_____________________

Some of you have commented about the location of my comments link. I know, I know—I went back on my word and chose a template with the link at the top. And I do hate it. But I like the way the darker color makes the photos pop, so until WordPress comes up with something new (or I change my mind again) it’s staying. Sorry!

6 Responses to “No turning back”

  1. dashababy Says:

    It’s ok Shawkey, I can handle it. I will persevere with the light on dark font because you pics do look great on this background. I think it’s great that you are taking a class to gain more knowledge, it’s a good thing. I only wish I were as ambitious as you, I’ve always wanted to take a class but am much too lazy for that.

  2. amy Says:

    Sounds great, Sharkey! I would love to learn some photo shop stuff, all I can do now is crop and take out the red eyes.

    i dont mind the comments up top.

  3. Karen Says:

    I have about three or four different tools I use to fix problems in photos. (I have a “thing” about playing with faces. Other than fixing redeye, I stay away from that. Then again, I’ve never learned how to do it properly. So who knows?) I would love to have Photoshop and know how to use it though.

  4. Suzie Says:

    Heh…I like watching you spiral out of control! Since you’re not talking about anything really bad here 😉

  5. undercovermutha Says:

    Care to swap some tips?

  6. Von Krankipantzen Says:

    I sure wish I knew Photoshop.

    You know the saying, “You don’t know enough to know that you don’t know enough” (or something like that) so that means you now know enough to know your limitations. This is good because you imporove very quickly at this stage.


Leave a Reply

