Mine eyes

On our way to MN in August

For the last few weeks my eyes have really been bugging me. They feel tired all the time. They itch and burn and water. I thought it was my contacts, so I took them out and wore my glasses for a day. It helped a little, but not much.

Then I thought maybe it was my eye makeup. I got a new tube of mascara, thinking the old stuff was dry and flaking off into my eyes. That didn’t do much either.

So for the last two days, I’ve gone entirely without eye makeup. I look like some sort of feral animal with beady little eyes, but it has helped a bit. At least I can freely rub them when they start to itch and burn without turning into a raccoon.

After all this trial and error, I think I’ve figured it out. And I’m not encouraged. Because if I want my eyes to feel better on a regular basis, I think I’m going to have to spend less time on the computer. I sit in front of my work computer for 9-10 hours a day. Then I come home and do the blogging/Flickr/Sudoku/Photoshop thing, often for several more hours.

So if I’m not around to your site as often, you’ll know why. Oh, who am I kidding? I don’t want to give up my blogging habit, but quitting my job isn’t really an option. So do you have any suggestions for me?

13 Responses to “Mine eyes”

  1. blurry eyed Says:

    When you’re on the computer just give your eyes a rest every now and again by looking away and letting your eyes focus on another objact for a few minutes. If you can try focusing at a few different spots. Hopefully it will help because I don’t think anyone wants you to have to cut back on the blogging!

  2. Lola Says:

    I think you’re supposed to take a break (every 15 minutes?) and try to focus on something far away. That’s what we were told in my jewelrymaking class, at least – but I think the same holds true for computers, or anything where you’re focusing on something close up for long periods of time.

    Also, that photo is SO disturbing.

  3. amy Says:

    That pic freaks me the hell out.

    Sorry bout your eyes! I am feeling the same thing, starting full time work after so long, on the computer all day. I don’t even want to look at anything by 5 oclock. I take a break during the day by looking at the wood grain on my desk for two minutes. It is very relaxing to the peepers.

  4. Lazy Lightning Says:

    I actually have had a similar problem because I am on a computer all day and evening, like you. And like others have said, it has helped to take breaks. Every time I finish a section of something at work, I will take a short (5 minute) stroll. To get some water, some coffee, or just to stretch my legs. I used to spend these minibreaks in front of the computer, checking my email, but I downloaded googletalk to take care of that for me, and now i feel much better. I like your template, by the way.

  5. Suzie Says:

    Wrap yourself in a sheet and lay on the floor….I’ve heard that helps.

    Heh.

    I think everyone already gave you the suggestion that I was going to. When I’m not twisting trophies (that’s the cool industry lingo) then I’m on the computer all day too (engraving is connected to the computer). Of course at night, the same thing as you (well minus the Soduko ~ I do mine old school on paper).

    Give your peepers a rest and thanks for the nightmares last night from this picture 😉

  6. undercovermutha Says:

    As mentioned, breaks are the way to go. I have to watch myself too. Once I downloaded a program with that in mind, which would remind me to take a break every 20 minutes. I suppose a kitchen timer would have the same effect.

  7. dashababy Says:

    “Everything in moderation”, well, that’s all I got for advice, not very witty or funny that’s the first thing that popped into me little head. I’ve been having the similar problems with my eyes too and I did the same thing, no makeup for a couple days and then decided to take pity on the poor people around me and put it back on but it seems to have helped some. My problem was another cyst on my eyelid. Oh, I know!! Have you tried warm compress to the eyes? It does feel good but then everything is really blurry after that for awhile. Good luck.
    You look like an alien here btw.

  8. Cherie Says:

    Let’s get to the real solution here… guacomole and margaritas! This combination cures all eye problems. Try it and reaport back. Hopefully the weird tequila dreams won’t be nearly as creepO as that photo of you above.

  9. Von Krankipantzen Says:

    Well when you only have one eye it gets tired easily as it has to do the job of two. Silly!

  10. Karen Says:

    Well, I don’t know what makeup brands you use, but if you haven’t been using hypoallergenic stuff, maybe now is the time to switch. Perhaps wear glasses more often than you have been in the past. (Treat yourself to a new pair with fashionable frames.) I’m thinking that if you take as many approaches as possible, you’ll get some relief. By which I mean, do all that other stuff with the breaks as well.

  11. mrtl Says:

    I hope you got that unibrow taken care of at your appointment. 😉

  12. oddmix Says:

    Set your font size two sizes bigger and scroll more. It works for my aging, i mean aching, eyes.

  13. eclectic Says:

    You’re too cute! Somebody’s having waaaaaaay too much fun with Photoshop. Yay you!!


Leave a Reply

