42 Down

Name that Honkytonk Star

I got to cross Tennessee off my list today. I think now there are only eight states in the union that I haven’t visited. I’m in Nashville for a work meeting, and it just so happens that the Country Music Awards are in town tonight. Our hotel is downtown, and the Gaylord Entertainment Center is only about three blocks away.

Gaylord Entertainment Center

Of course, my co-workers and I couldn’t let all that activity happen around us without at least venturing out in search of some famous faces (never mind that I don’t actually know what any of them look like). In the rain. The good thing about the rain is that it kept the crowds away, and we were able to get glimpses of the red carpet area. The bad thing about the rain is that it was quite wet.

Because of the rain, a tent was erected over the red carpet. As each limo approached, a guy would walk up and ask the driver who was inside. If the occupants were deemed important enough, the car was allowed to proceed and stop under the tent. Then another guy would announce the people or group as they emerged from the car, and they would turn around and wave to the adoring fans before scurrying into the brightly-lit larger tent for interviews and photos.

The conditions for taking photos were terrible. We were relatively far away, I didn’t have my long lens, it was dark and raining, and I was trying to balance an umbrella and take pictures at the same time. Excuses, excuses. But I did manage to get a shot or two of the Female Vocalist of the Year. Can you see her?

Find the star in this picture

Posted in Travel. 7 Comments »

7 Responses to “42 Down”

  1. Suzie Says:

    Please put a red circle around her….I can’t see her (not that I know what she looks like, but STILL) and I’d like to be able to see what I’m supposed to see.

  2. Sharkey Says:

    Suzie, click the picture to view it on Flickr. I put a note around her in the image there.

  3. Character Builder Says:

    J-E-A-L-O-U-S!!!

  4. oddmix Says:

    Hmmmm. You are ahead of me. By my best recollection (I traveled allot as as a child) I am at 38 – 39 if you count DC.

  5. undercovermutha Says:

    You’re still missing my state, aren’t you?

  6. Karen Says:

    Sounds like fun. Not that I know a thing about country music, though.

  7. Von Krankipantzen Says:

    Oh yeah…..

    Ok. I can’t see her.


Leave a Reply

