Insanity

Maggie doesn't approve of Santa

As I was getting ready for work the other day, I heard a Christmas ad on the radio. I know that I need to face the facts and accept that the holidays are almost upon us, so the ad itself didn’t bother me. However the content of the ad kind of did.

There’s a mall in the area that’s opening at 3:00 AM on November 24. Three o’clock in the morning! They’re making it an event called Rockin’ Shoppin’ Eve, and the radio station’s morning drive DJ will be there to host. They’re having live music, Starbucks coffee, and a variety of prizes and giveaways. Honestly, I think it sounds like fun. I would never get up to be at the mall at 3 AM, but I might consider staying up to go there at that time.

But then there’s the other side of it. Character Builder‘s husband is a manager (manager = salaried = no overtime pay) at a retail store. As it is, he has to be there at an ungodly hour on the day after Thanksgiving. And that’s just the first day in a six-week series of Very. Long. Days.

This is just crazy! Do we really need to start shopping earlier and earlier every year? I know Kmart is open on Thanksgiving Day itself, and they’ve been doing it for a few years now. I don’t think that it will be too many years before it becomes commonplace and acceptable for all stores to do it. There are already signs of the promotions and sales starting before Thanksgiving.

What’s your prediction—in what year will the Christmas sale promotions start November 1?

10 Responses to “Insanity”

  1. Suzie Says:

    I love, LOVE, LOVE the retail store that Character Builder’s husband works at, but I still would not get up at 2:55 a.m. (that would allow me a minute to at least brush my teeth and 3 minutes to drive there) to get there by 3 a.m.

    I do not even want to think about Christmas decorations being out by Nov. 1st and please don’t get me started on the Christmas music being piped through the speakers at some establishments already.

  2. Lazy Lightning Says:

    I have acquaintences that are camping out on thanksgiving night outside best buy, target, walmart, etc just to get those Thanksgiving 24th deals. I think it’s crazy. And yes, many of these stores are opening at 4, 5, or 6 am. I will be content to pay more and get it on the internet just so I DON’T have to deal with that crowd.

  3. William Says:

    I used to work in a nightclub and my I would get home at 4 or 5 am, I used to love the places that opened that early for Xmas shopping.

  4. Karen Says:

    Well, it’s different in Canada since we don’t have that Thanksgiving shopping spree. It sounds very much like our Boxing Day though (the day after Christmas). One of the downtown areas in our city (which used to be 3 small towns) has had its Christmas decorations up for weeks already. I wouldn’t be surprised if they were up on November 1.

  5. eclectic Says:

    Too late. Up here, we’ve had Christmas mail-out fliers, and Christmas promotions since just before Halloween. Makes me want to buy NOTHING AT ALL until January, just to spite ’em. Yeah, I know… being petty is NOT attractive. But, seriously…

  6. Von Krankipantzen Says:

    I am sad to say year after year I find myself less and less interested in Christmas. At this point if it was somehow cancelled I wouldn’t mind a bit. The retail manipulation starts earlier and earlier and by the time Dec. comes along I a SICK OF IT!!! Blech! It has become so souless.

  7. eclectic Says:

    P.S. I LOVE the Maggie shot!! So expressive!!

  8. eclectic Says:

    P.P.S. — I just had one of those surreal blogging moments where we saw a little cocker spaniel and I said to my son, “Oh look honey! It’s a little Maggie-dog!” And he said, “Who???” And I said, “A Maggie-dog! She looks just like Maggie!” And he said, “Who’s Maggie?”

    And then I realized it. Blogging has completely invaded my reality. I’ve integrated it to the point where I no longer know instinctively where one ends and the other begins. Just had to share!

  9. amy Says:

    My best friend has been living in Arizona for a couple of years, and she can’t believe how crazy the shopping is down there. What the H is everyone out buying?

  10. undercovermutha Says:

    Boycott it. Then it will go away. I think I just saw a headline that Wal-Mart was down this year, and a radio story said that it’s always busier nearer to Christmas anyhow. Viva la Internet shopping.


Leave a Reply

