Uninspired

Neighborhood decor

So as William reminded me today (in the comments on my previous post), I’ve been a little lax in my blog posting. I actually had a good idea and some camera-phone pics to post on Friday, but then I couldn’t get my phone to send the pics anywhere. So they’re still there, and now the moment has passed for the topic I was planning to discuss.

Isn’t this entertaining, reading about what I could’ve written?

I haven’t been writing, but I have been working on some photos. Tonight after work I grabbed the tripod and headed for the neighbor’s house. She’s an avid cyclist, and always has this old bike in her front yard as decoration. It would never occur to me to do that, and I certainly would never think to put Christmas lights on it. But I think it looks kinda cool.

Since I’m not doing so well with the words tonight, you’re probably better off going to my Flickr stream to see some of the other recent shots I’ve taken. (Tricia, you’ll recognize one of the subjects.)

Hope your week is going well!

7 Responses to “Uninspired”

  1. oddmix Says:

    In Kansas, near my in-laws’ house, is a farm with an old John-Deere tractor in front. Every year they cover it in little white lights and then add one big round red one on the grill – making it “Rudolf, the Red Nosed John-Deere.”

  2. Character Builder Says:

    That looks really cool! The lights around the tires are done perfectly!

    Hmmm…she made a holiday decoration out of her hobby. How could I possibly do something like that? I’d never set my TV out in the snow!

    Maybe you should decorate your tri-pod?

  3. Sharkey Says:

    OddMix, that’s pretty cool. Really corny (no pun intended–ha, get it? “corny” referring to a farm/tractor? I crack myself up.), but cool too.

    Character Builder, the tire lights do have good symmetry. I had to do some Photoshopping to get rid of the ugly green and orange cords/plugs and the big white Electrocution Risk tag near the front tire. Can you tell?

  4. Character Builder Says:

    My untrained eye can’t see it, maybe others can. You did good!

  5. william Says:

    Now THAT is a very cool picture.

  6. eclectic Says:

    As a cyclist myself, I think that’s the coolest decoration I’ve seen!! I love that! Are you sure you don’t want to come to Washington and photograph some really cute kids for me??

  7. Susie Says:

    I likey the bikey. I was thinking like Character Builder, it would be cool if everyone decorated what gives them pleasure. heeheeee Uh, never mind.


Leave a Reply

