The party’s over . . .

Done

. . . and I couldn’t be happier. The last of our house guests left this morning, and we’ve reclaimed our home. I cannot believe how much chaos, mayhem, and dust seven people can generate. As I mentioned earlier, the first family of five (plus two labradors) arrived late Saturday afternoon. J.P. had prepared chili in the crock pot, and he was shocked by the sheer volume of food consumed by three teenage boys.

Sunday involved two church services, house prep, and food prep. Our next-door neighbors and some other friends joined us for Christmas Eve dinner of lasagna. It was yummy, and it provided the first opportunity this year to use my Lenox Holiday dishes.

Holiday

We didn’t register for wedding china when we got married, but if this had been in the stores during that time of year we probably would’ve. Even though I can really only use it for a short time every year, I really love it. And it probably gets nearly as much use as any china, right? Do you use yours more than once or twice a year? I didn’t think so.

Okay, where was I? Oh yeah—Christmas. We were given a brief respite on Christmas Day when our guests drove to NJ to visit my sister-in-law’s family. We took the opportunity to dust and vacuum yet again, and then we spent the day relaxing and playing sports games on the Wii. I never even got dressed. It was HEAVEN.

The masses arrived on Tuesday, and we feasted on Japanese food . . . chow mein, ginger chicken, Japanese beef, rice, and sushi. With Auntie J.J.’s cookies for dessert.

Yesterday was nutty with all those people in our house (the house that seemed so big when we bought it). There was much Wii-ing and board- and card-gaming. And of course, more food—leftovers this time.

We all heaved a big sigh of relief when the first family left yesterday afternoon and we were back to having “only” six house guests. Their departure cut our guest list in half, and the rest of us went out to dinner last night at J.P.’s favorite restaurant.

Maggie’s still recovering—she’s curled up on the couch as I write this. We’re still recovering too. From the gift that keeps on giving—we seem to have picked up colds from our guests. Merry Christmas.

16 Responses to “The party’s over . . .”

  1. Ortizzle Says:

    Congratulations on emptying your house of house guests. Or as the saying goes, “Fish and house guests begin to smell after 3 days.” Not that you don’t enjoy their company, but it really makes you appreciate the “normal order of things” around the house when it’s back to… well, normal!

    Maggie’s got the right idea. I’ve been doing that for the last couple of days, and all I had to deal with was family on Christmas day for Open House!

  2. soozieq Says:

    I have never used our China. EVER. It was my Grandmother’s and I’m petrified that I’ll break something. My Dad brought it back with him when he went to Japan and gave it to his Mom as a gift. I should pull one piece out one of these days and look to see what kind of pattern it actually has.

    I’m glad you survived your guests, but I’m sorry you got sick!

  3. Karen Says:

    I don’t have traditional china, but if I did, it wouldn’t get used more than once or twice a year, at MOST. I like your holiday pattern, and your approach makes perfect sense.

    Three teenage boys in the house? Whoa! No wonder you’re all tuckered out. Glad you had a Merry Christmas and hope you have a quiet New Year planned. Best wishes for 2007!

  4. Von Krankipantzen Says:

    I got tired just reading about your houseguests. I only had one day with 8 other people and I didn’t have to do anything except eat and leave. And I was exhausted from that. You guys should give yourself a pat on the back for being most excellent hosts!

  5. undercovermutha Says:

    Ew, phooey! Here’s to getting back to normal! Bring it on, 2007!

  6. Susie Says:

    I bow to your amazing hospitality. We didn’t register for China, either. The Christmas china is a great idea!

  7. William Says:

    7 people and you used Lennox? What about Paper Plates?

  8. CircusKelli Says:

    Glad you survived your guests! That’s what January is for. Recovering from the holidays. đŸ™‚

  9. MrsDoF Says:

    The holiday pattern on your china is lovely. And worthy for guests over Christmas.

    We inherited my husband’s grandmother’s china dishes. It sat in boxes for years.
    All the while I was being criticized by my husband’s aunt for not treating it properly. Something about taking it out and washing to keep the form or somesuch detail.

    When my sister-in-law learned I wasn’t using it (good heavens, I was doing home daycare then–when did I have energy for fancy dinner parties?) she asked me ever so kindly and gently if she could take it home with her.
    And so I happily handed it over to someone who adores all the trappings of entertaining guests.

    I thought that would be the end of it. But No, dear old auntie mentioned the destiny of that china at least twice a year right up until she quit speaking to us altogether. Maybe I should have saved one plate to frizbee at her?

    Anyway, I’m with William about the convenience of paper plates.

    As for teenagers and chili, golly I miss those days.
    One time I made an 8 quart pot, alongside a 9 x 13 pan of cornbread. I had a dream of leftovers, since I had a meeting at church the next evening.
    Alas, it was not to be. My oldest son called a few of his buddies who lived in the dorm and told them that Mom had a Huge pot of Homemade chili ready to eat.
    Truly, I tell you, 5 males soon tumbled out of a van in front of my house, plus my own 3 sons.
    They lined up like it was a buffet. The whole pot of chili and the whole pan of cornbread and I don’t know how much butter and honey and pop just disappeared.
    I will say that each and everyone spoke the words Thank You, and most put their dishes in the sink.

    I couldn’t say if I was more proud that my cooking was so appreciated or that my son was confident enough that he made a couple calls and brought the guys over.

    The next evening, while I was out, my husband ordered pizza.

    Golly, I didn’t mean to do one of those ‘tangent comments’. Is that what it’s called? when the blog owner writes a good story and then somebody comes along who sprouts a memory and the train moves along further away.
    Ah well, all this typing done. I should save my energy for folding the laundry.

  10. Susie Says:

    Happy New Year, Shawkey and fam. đŸ™‚

  11. mainlinemom Says:

    Love the china, my sister already had a full set from my grandmother when she got married, so she DID register for your pattern. She’s a little southern socialite/politician so she does tons of entertaining. I on the other hand got a Pfaltzgraff winterberry pattern that goes in the dishwasher and can be used every day well into January. I can count on one hand the number of times I’ve used my good china, although I DO use my crystal and sterling pretty frequently.

  12. Sharkey Says:

    MM, shhh . . . don’t tell anyone, but I do put the Lenox in the dishwasher.

  13. Kami Says:

    Love the dishes. HAPPY NEW YEAR!

  14. amy Says:

    Oh your dishes are beautiful!

    Glad you have your house back. Company can be lovely and utterly exhausting eh.

  15. kate Says:

    I have the same christmas dishes and the goldware to match. They were my moms, she used them from thanksgiving to new years while I was growing up. We use them still during the holidays. I also have their wedding china and when we were happily married the ex and I ate off of them every sunday night only because I vowed to use those beautiful dishes and not let them collect dust in the china closet.

    I do notice most people dont ever use them!

  16. tallulah Says:

    You are a much better woman than I. When people say they are coming to town, we offer to put them up in a Hotel.


Leave a Reply

