Neglect

ne·glect Pronunciation[ni-glekt]
–verb (used with object)

  1. to pay no attention or too little attention to; disregard or slight: The public neglected his genius for many years.
  2. to be remiss in the care or treatment of: to neglect one’s family; to neglect one’s appearance; to neglect one’s blog.

Hey, it looks like I’m three-for-three on that last one. Let’s see . . . I spent most of the weekend Flickring because I participated in a contest. J.P. was neglected on Saturday because I had to create my entry, and I neglected him on Sunday because I was busy refreshing the results page every three minutes. (I didn’t win.)

I’m neglecting my appearance today. I did shower this morning, but skipped the make-up and then got dressed in sweats and worked from the kitchen table.

And, well . . . you KNOW I’m guilty of neglecting the blog. I think this may be a record for the length of time between posts.


Lonely cupcake

I’ve been so neglectful that I completely missed my own second blirthday over the weekend. When I started this thing, I never thought I’d still be at it two years later. Two years! I’ve known you guys for two years! Hard to believe . . . .

Let’s see . . . what else is going on in this head of mine? Just random stuff:

For some reason, Barbaro’s death makes me really sad. I’m not a horse person; I’m not a gambler. But it still makes me sad. He was so beautiful. And so young, and full of potential. What a shame.

Have you seen the Double-Stuf commercial with the granny and the NASCAR driver? Where they’re licking and licking the cookies to eat all the filling? It totally grosses me out. First of all, I’m not a Double-Stuf person because the ratio of filling to chocolate is way out of whack. Give me regular Oreos any day. And secondly, who wants to eat the yummy chocolate part of the cookie after it’s all soggy with spit? Gah!

Do you see why I haven’t been posting? If things don’t improve soon, I’ll retain more of my readers by posting nothing at all.

15 Responses to “Neglect”

  1. William Says:

    Double Stuf’s are better. I am sorry you did not win the constest but I am sure, as with most groups, it was politics and not actually who was the best.

    I just now looked at your flickr photos and they are awesome.

  2. amy Says:

    Frig that cupcake picture is gorgeous. You could just post food pictures and I would keep coming.

    And i think we should start a community blog for neglectful bloggers. Each of us would only be responsible for like, one post a year.

  3. redheadmommy Says:

    Only 15 or so days between blogs. Don’t worry, I’ve gone WAY longer than that in the last year….which is why my readers have been dropping off one by one, I suppose.

  4. Character Builder Says:

    I’m with you on the Oreo thing. The chocolate part is the best anyway, so why would you want more cream filling?

    My blog hasn’t been updated since some time in December. I either have no idea what to post, or I have too many ideas of random stuff that I can’t decide, so I just do nothing. It’s a great philosophy, isn’t it?

  5. Karen Says:

    New blog post? Bonus!

    (Know what I mean?)

  6. Von Krankipantzen Says:

    Hey! Don’t sweat it. It is six of one and half a dozen of another. Shame for not posting or shame over what lamely funny thing you posted in a desperate attempt to post regularily. I suffer from the later all the time.

    However, cupcakes (or photos of cupcakes) are always welcome.

  7. Cherie Says:

    Who else besides me licked their monitor? Really? I was the only one? Gorgeous cupcake shot Sharkey. You win everytime you submit a photo and/or challenge yourself to do something a little different or outside your comfort zone. But being a part of that hip trendy gang would have been cool. Bummer they didn’t choose you. You do great work.

  8. soozieq Says:

    Happy 2 year blirthday!!!

    I do not like the stuffing anyway and I do NOT like soggy chocolate cookie pieces, so I hear you loud and clear.

    That cupcake looks so flippin’ good! Why are you doing that to me Sharkey, you KNOW I live too far away to come knocking on your door begging for cupcakes.

    Aren’t you GLAD I live so far away? 🙂

  9. blurry Says:

    Happy 2nd Blirthday! Too bad you didn’t get into the group, but your photos are amazing. I am always impressed at the progress you and crayonz have made in photography in such a short time. You’re both pretty awesome!

  10. Lazy Lightning Says:

    You and I should eat oreos together. I don’t like the chocolate part as well.

  11. tysgirl Says:

    *sniff sniff* Do I smell cupcakes?

    I saw your entry photo and it kicked butt, you so shoulda won that membership contest. It’s probably a good thing you didn’t though because then you might not have time for us photographer wannabes 😉

  12. CircusKelli Says:

    Happy Second Blogoversary!

    Take the Oreos and crush them up into vanilla frosting, then put THAT on the cupcakes… 😉

  13. MrsDoF Says:

    Happy Blogoversary! two years for a person means getting into big girl pants.
    I’m trying to decide where a blogger might be from now on.

    However, if a cupcake comes with it, you just keep on writing!

  14. eclectic Says:

    Happy Bl-irthday, Shawkey! Don’t worry about neglecting the blog, it’s not like there’s a BPS (Blog Protective Services) agency or anything going to take it away from you… And even if there were, a couple of those cuppity cakes would get it right back for you. 😉

  15. Susie Says:

    WONDERFUL NEWS. This was the fastest way to get here and tell you that after I just read your comment at my place. Oh, honey, SO thrilled. More reason to party 🙂
    If I weren’t old, fat and WTFish, I’d be doing cartwheels. I am inside.


Leave a Reply

