Neglect – for good reason

Afternoon light

The blog neglect continues at Sharkey Malarkey, this time because I’m focused on other things. Like having a CT scan last Friday to find out if my cancer has returned. It hasn’t!! I’m not officially at the five-year mark yet, but it’s close enough for me.

They say you’re considered “cured” at five years. But when does the clock start? On the day of diagnosis? The day you have surgery to get rid of the tumor? The day you finish treatment? I don’t remember hearing the starting gun, so I’m not sure when you’d say the actual day is. My second tumor was found on April 23, 2002, so that’s the day I’m using.

But ultimately, I don’t think it matters. It’s not like the anniversary date is some magic threshold to be crossed, and beyond it there’s no more cancer. It doesn’t work that way. While my risk is a lot lower now, it could still happen–at five years and one day, at seven years, or even after 10 years. Worrying about a recurrence won’t prevent it, so I don’t plan to spend much time worrying. Life’s too short!

When you wish upon a star . . .

In other news, I’ve been taking some photos, trying to learn more about what I’m doing. Maggie was kind enough to do some posing for me, and J.P. acted as my assistant. Believe it or not, this is one of the better ones. This is her Pinocchio impression–she appears to be wishing upon a star.

And finally, I’ve spent the last few nights working on a header graphic and customizing a Blogger template for Amanda over at Upheaval. I don’t pretend to be a graphic designer, and you’ll see by the very minor tweaks that I made to a standard template that I’m not a web designer either. But I *think* she’s happy with it. She did post it, after all.

But now I have to ask a technical question . . . I coded the template changes on a PC, using IE 6. Everything looked great (well, as great as it could considering that I was doing it), and I shipped it off to Amanda. She posted it, and tonight when I hit her site from the Mac (using Safari), the page background is white, even though the page’s background color is set to #000000! It’s also white when I view it in Firefox on the Mac. What do you guys see? Does anyone have any recommendations for me?

I know people hate IE, but is it really so evil that it makes white black and black white?

16 Responses to “Neglect – for good reason”

  1. Von Krankipantzen Says:

    Horray for your anniversary. Your description that you don’t remember hearing a starting gun is so bang on (PUN!) and I think about that too. I think that is why I didn’t really celebrate my recent anniversary as well. As a milestone it is ambiguous in so many ways. But every clean test and time elapsed since the whole cancer ordeal is to be celebrated whether it is a specific day or each and every day.

    I ramble…

  2. oddmix Says:

    It is white on Firefox on PC, too. I viewed your source and this is the CSS that is being sent for the body:

    body {
    background:#000;
    margin:0;
    padding:40px 20px;
    font:x-small “Trebuchet MS”,Trebuchet,Verdana,Sans-Serif;
    text-align:center;
    color:#ccc;
    font-size/* */:/**/small;
    font-size: /**/small;
    }

    Note the truncation of the colors – dunno what would cause it though.

    Evidently, IE is coded to understand three digit colors, but Firefox is not. I have never seen a three digit color code, though.

  3. Susie Says:

    I already said so, but it’s worth saying twice (or more): I am thrilled for your good news. Picking a date to celebrate can be a good thing; it’s also a good thing to celebrate every day.
    I love this photo of Maggie.
    As for the rest, I hear, “blah blah blah white blah blah black blah…” Sorry, no help at all.

  4. Sharkey Says:

    OM, I think the three-digit color code is just shorthand. For example if the color is CC6699, you can code it as C69. Web safe colors should always have the double-digit values in the different channels, so you can save yourself a few keystrokes by just typing the three digits.

    But here’s the thing–I didn’t touch that part of the template. That’s exactly how it came in from Blogger! FWIW, I tried replacing it with the six-digit color code, and that didn’t work either.

  5. amy Says:

    That is awesome, Sharkey, bout your almost five years. Tell Susie to throw you a party at her place on April 23.

    Love the glass pic, and lil pinocchio.

  6. UCM Says:

    Happy Anniversary to YOU! I love that you’re still here, still kicking. Now my blog on the other hand is dying a slow, painful death.

    The blogger stuff? Ack. I love the header image on Amanda’s site, though. And Mags is as beautiful as ever. Miss Pinnoccio.

  7. Ern Says:

    I’m with the others. Any interval of time cancer-free is to be celebrated. Yay for a clean scan!

    And all I can do is put things in the sidebar, so I’m no help at all. 🙂

  8. William Says:

    Woohoo on the clean scan! That IS something to be celebrated. As is everyday.

  9. Peanutt Says:

    Congratulations!!!!! That is great news!!!! We just found out my Dad has bladder cancer. =0( Hopefully he’s as lucky as you!!!!

  10. Cherie Says:

    Congrats, Congrats, Congrats, Congrats,Congrats! (one for every year!) Cancer schmancer!

    Love the glass refracting the light. (that’s vodka in there right?)

  11. Catherine Says:

    Super fantastic news, Sharkey! (I left you a comment at my site, too.) Besos xxxx

  12. Ortizzle Says:

    Sharkey: “Catherine” in the above comment is me, Ortizzle. WordPress recognized my grad student blog I.D. instead of my web page! Ha!

  13. tysgirl Says:

    Congratulations on the clean scan. So I guess that means your glass if half full, huh?

  14. eclectic Says:

    Rock ON, Shawkey!! I love the photo of Mags — she is just such a winsome li’l lass, and you have a knack for capturing feelings, not just images.

  15. soozieq Says:

    That is such awesome news! You kicked Cancer’s ass to the curb 😉

    When I go to that site, I see a black box up top with a white box inside it that says “the picture isn’t available” or something like that. I am on a PC using Mozilla. Does this help? I didn’t think so.

  16. CircusKelli Says:

    Sharkey, I’m SO VERY HAPPY for the good news you have received! That’s wonderful!

    Big big hugs to you!

    And that picture of the glass — beautiful!


Leave a Reply

