It’s only Saturday!

Time to push the flowers down the page. If you thought they looked dead a week ago, you should see them now. (Yes, they’re still on the little table where I set them to take the picture. Sad, I know.)

It’s the weekend! Yeah, I’m betting you already knew that. But it’s a good one, and it’s only Saturday! J.P. took yesterday off and we ventured into the city. We like to wander around Reading Terminal Market (pronounced “Redding,” like the railroad) and just soak up the sights, sounds, and smells. And believe me, there are smells. Flowers, fish markets, meat markets, bakeries, spice stores, and any kind of cuisine you can imagine—all of the scents blend together as one. Need some pigs’ feet? How ’bout some sugar from Mauritius? You can find both—and dog collars—at RTM.

My favorite find was this:

Mmmmmm . . .

The bottom scoop was banana, and the top scoop was chocolate marshmallow. Mmmmmmm . . . yummy.

Yesterday’s paychecks included the remainder of our 2006 bonuses. Believe me, that’s not exactly a blog-worthy event. But! It was almost enough to cover the cost of my new toy(s): Adobe Creative Suite Premium 2.3, which includes Photoshop, Illustrator, Dreamweaver, and Acrobat, plus a handful of other applications. Because J.P.’s in grad school, we were able to get the student price, which is MUCH less than retail. Good thing, because we’re probably going to have to buy a new Mac to handle it all!

We’re making plans for summer vacation with J.P.’s brother and family, and yesterday we firmed things up. We’re going to rent a house in the Outer Banks. And man, what a house it is: six bedrooms, 5.5 baths, hot tub, game room, golf cart; the works! And the best part is that Mags is going with us.

This morning we got our butts out of bed and went to breakfast with the neighbors. We hadn’t seen them in quite a while, and it was really fun. And now we’re off to take pictures at church. If any of them turn out, I’ll post a few. Have a great weekend!

17 Responses to “It’s only Saturday!”

  1. Suzie Says:

    Wow! That is so cool. I can’t wait to see the amazing things you create with all that *power* 🙂

    That house you’re renting sounds awesome!!

    You have a great weekend yourself. Say “Hi” to J.P. for me.

  2. Von Krankipantzen Says:

    Lots of cool things happening in your house. Awesome!

  3. Karen Says:

    Oh, that sounds like the St. Lawrence Market in Toronto. Yay for all the cool things you got to enjoy this weekend. And it is (was) only Saturday!

  4. Character Builder Says:

    I can hardly take my eyes off that ice cream–chocolate marshmallow is my absolute favorite!

    I hope Sunday is as good as Saturday was!

  5. Allisone Says:

    The spice terminal is my favorite spot in the RTM. The husband has to get a shoe shine from the stand in the back everytime we go as well.

  6. tysgirl Says:

    I’m a little late, but I hope the rest of your weekend was as good as the first part.

    By the way, I saw the church photos and they are INCREDIBLE! Great work!

  7. Ortizzle Says:

    That ice cream is making me drool.
    Where are the church photos?

  8. Mainline Mom Says:

    I always laugh when I used to live in Reading and people would read my business card and ask “So where is ‘reeding’ Pennsylvania?”. Ugh.

  9. YankeeAmanda Says:

    Glad to have found your blog (through amanda sue johnson’s blog). I grew up in Chester County and MAN do I miss it!!! Mississippi is QUITE different!

    Anyway, I intend to check back often!

  10. ThePapaDog Says:

    I actually wouldn’t have minded a picture of the dead flowers…

  11. William Says:

    My wife and I used to go to the Reading Terminal Market all the time. We weould eat at Mimi’s Down home sould food cafe. At least that is what i think it was called. I miss that place.

  12. eclectic Says:

    Sounds like fun!!!

  13. undercovermutha Says:

    Oh yay! What an incredible purchase. Can’t wait to see what you can do. Got an extra bedroom for me at the rent house?

  14. amy Says:

    Wowza, you are gonna have some FUN with your new purchases!

    And Outer Banks looks AMAZING.

  15. tysgirl Says:

    It’s been soooo long, we miss you 😦


Leave a Reply

