Million Dollar Idea

Every morning I struggle with getting up. The snooze button is my friend; I keep the alarm clock in the bathroom so I actually have to get up to turn it off. Most mornings, I get up, stumble to the bathroom, hit the snooze button, and then crawl back under the warm covers for nine more minutes of sleep. I usually repeat this routine 2-3 times before I actually get up for real. Is that pathetic or what?

But this morning at 5:15 it came to me—a clock radio that is guaranteed to make me leap out of bed fully awake. Its alarm sounds exactly like a horking dog.

21 Responses to “Million Dollar Idea”

  1. Character Builder Says:

    Uh oh. Sounds like it’s time for JP to get out the carpet cleaner.

  2. soozieq Says:

    I hear ya sista!

  3. Lola Says:

    I had a friend in college who just could not get up for anything, even though she set multiple alarm clocks that were all far enough away that she had to get up to turn them off. I suggested that we invent an alarm clock that would set fire to her house so she’d HAVE to get up to put the fire out, but then decided that her house would probably just burn down if we did that.

    Anyway, the point of that story was, I woke up to horking CAT on Sunday, and discovered a ball of fur and a little piece of red ribbon. I told her that the rest of that ribbon better turn up some other time.

  4. Von Krankipantzen Says:

    Oh yeah! Nothing quite gets the blood pumping like imminent pukage.

  5. William Says:

    Wait is your dog named Magneto? That is cool.

  6. LazyLightning Says:

    I had the same experience this morning, only mine was a horking cat, and at 1 am. it definitely works!

  7. Susie Says:

    Why are snoozes 9 minutes? Mine is, two. I usually hit it 3 or 4 times.

    Horking does tend to cause one to spring up.

  8. amanda sue Says:

    isn’t that the truth! not only will you jump up immediately, but you will be shouting “get outside! get! don’t you DARE throw up in here – choke it back! let’s GO!” before your eyes are even open.

  9. shari Says:

    Try horking kids. Zero -to- sixty in under a fraction of a second.

  10. Susie Says:

    Wait, mine isn’t TWO. It’s nine, also. I really don’t belong in the Gifted and Talented class 😦

  11. Joyce Says:

    I believe it! Anything horking will wake up anyone at any moment. Especially when the sound is close by.
    I can’t believe no one has built an alarm like that yet. I’d buy one! πŸ™‚

  12. Mainline Mom Says:

    What is it with the horking that does that? We recently figured out that if the dog goes to bed with an empty stomach, she will puke up a little mucus or something. Since she’s in her crate, my husband has decided that we either must feed her before bed, or we ingnore the puking till morning. So even though it does wake me up, I pretend not to hear it.

  13. Nicole Says:

    Heheh… I often hit the wrong button and fall a sleep for more then 9 minutes, even with multiple alarm clocks πŸ™‚
    The only thing that gets me fully away is the sound of the front door bell… when I know it’s the post man with a box with items I ordered online. That’s something I don’t want to miss for sure πŸ™‚

  14. Ortizzle Says:

    Excuse my ignorance, but… what is “horking”???????

  15. CircusKelli Says:

    Wait… a horking dog hit you this morning at 5:15? That’s a helluva way to wake up…

    (Heh — Horking “dog/cat/kid insert person/thing here” will work every time)

  16. Traci Says:

    Oy! Horking is never good. As for the snooze thing, what’s with 9 minutes? What ever happened to good ROUND numbers for goodness sake?

  17. aMy Says:

    Hi Sharkey!
    Yeah horking dog alarm would do it for me too.

  18. Susie Says:

    Hi, Shawkey. You’ve been coming to mind a lot, so thought I’d tell you so. I hope you’re doing well. Mighty fine, in fact.

  19. Redhead Mommy Says:

    I have the same problem getting out of bed. Even with two small children, I will put it off until absolutely necessary. Now I have a good argument to get my husband to let us have a dog!


Leave a Reply

