An update . . .

Capitol as viewed by a four year-old
Photo credit: the 40-pound furnace

So I know I need to write a post. I’ve been thinking about it for a few days, but don’t feel like I have much to say. How about a little travelogue?

On July 1, Character Builder and her family came for a visit. They flew into D.C., and J.P. and I drove down to meet them. For three days we traipsed around the city, visiting museums and monuments and memorials (oh my!). And for some of that time, I was carrying a 40-pound furnace named Lauren.

That mouth, it never stops moving
The mouth, it never stops moving.

Have you ever been to D.C. in the summer? Have you felt its oppressive heat and humidity? Do you know how miserable it can be? Well guess what? We didn’t have any of that! In fact, we couldn’t have had better weather if we’d paid for it. The temps were in the high 70s/low 80s, and there was absolutely no humidity. It was unbelievable.

So typical

I just love the expressions on their faces here—very typical and representative of their personalities. They did really well, considering how boring it must’ve been for them. They would’ve preferred it if we’d stayed at the hotel, where there was internet access (for Webkinz) and a swimming pool.

We got home Tuesday night, and had a very low-key day on the Fourth. It was overcast and rainy, and around dinnertime the storms started. So no fireworks this year. But we did have potato salad!

On Thursday, we took the kids to this place. We had a lot of fun in the obstacle course/ball shooting place, and of course the kids were all about the games where they could win tickets.

And Friday, we went to the NJ shore. Ocean City, to be exact. It was the perfect day (except for missing our exit on the way there and then trying to get where we wanted to be without having to backtrack). The water was absolutely FREEZING—it made my feet almost achy.

Icy
I know, I know—they’re not as cute as the kids.

But Lauren couldn’t have cared less about the water temperature. She had a great time standing at the water’s edge, waiting for the waves to come in and “get” her. Even when a bigger-than-expected wave got her in the face, she didn’t let it faze her. She simply turned around and started sticking out her butt to meet the waves. It was hilarious, but you’ll have to take my word for it for now. Character Builder took some photos and a video of the whole thing, but since they’re hers and the kids are hers I’ll let her post them if she wants (hint, hint!).

After they left on Saturday, it was like a ghost town around here. We wish they could come back every year!

**More photos on my Flickr site. If you’re one of my Flickr friends you’ll see more cute kid pics (some with kittens!). If you’re not one of my Flickr friends, you’ll have to settle for boring photos of buildings and monuments (but also kittens!). Let me know if you wanna be my friend.**

18 Responses to “An update . . .”

  1. SoozieQ Says:

    I feel lucky to be your friend 🙂

    Great pics, as usual. You know you could satisfy us (to some degree) if you just did these photo updates from time to time.

    I’m just sayin’…..(hint, hint)

  2. Susie Says:

    I enjoyed your DC trip 🙂

  3. mrtl Says:

    That child has amazing eyes – I didn’t even notice her mouth. lol

    Come back to DC in a few weeks. We’ll have pastries!

  4. Ortizzle Says:

    Well, if you had to carry a furnace around, at least it was an unbelieveably cute furnace (rather like your feet, and I love the nail polish color, BTW.)

  5. CircusKelli Says:

    Hey! Hi! Great pictures! I love the one of the kids in front of Honest Abe… priceless!

    I’m glad you had a good time, and that you shared it with us!

  6. Ortizzle Says:

    Testing again. Sorry to be a pest. It seems to work if I use my grad school WordPress login. But then it gives my grad school link instead of my regular blog link. I’m testing now to see if I can change the link and have it work.

  7. Ortizzle Says:

    It worked, thanks!

  8. Ern Says:

    The picture of that little blondie is SO cute! And I also love their faces in front of Lincoln. They totally have their “put out kids” expressions on. 🙂

  9. Character Builder Says:

    Well Lauren must have been paying attention to some extent in DC. Apparently, she told Grandpa Dale, Grandma Janet and Grandma Bea all about George Washington and Abraham Lincoln on the ride down to their house. For the whole hour. Yeah, she never quits. Good thing she’s so dang sweet!

  10. tysgirl Says:

    Hey, where’s that really cute picture of Character Builder?!?!? You know the one 😉

    Looks like you guys had fun!

  11. Character Builder Says:

    Don’t encourage her, Penni!

  12. Karen Says:

    Great photos! Sounds like a fun holiday. 🙂

  13. undercovermutha Says:

    I’ve had some really good potato salad, but none that ever beat out 4th of July fireworks.

    So glad you had fun in DC. I promise I’m going to make it up there one of these days. 🙂

  14. Von Krankipantzen Says:

    The one in front of the statue? Um…BERSHON! Already. They just get younger and younger…

  15. Character Builder Says:

    When I read Kranki’s comment, I thought, “Hmmm…I’ve heard that word before. What does it mean?” So googled it, read her comment again, and she is absolutely right! And I have a truckload of pictures just like it!

    http://www.dooce.com/archives/nubbin/08_22_2006.html

  16. pat Says:

    Pictures were great. That picture in front of The Licoln Memorial is a classic. I would use it for a Christmas Card.

  17. William Says:

    That kid has amazing eyes.

  18. shari Says:

    Gawsh, she’s beautiful! Sounds like a wonderful family get-together.


Leave a Reply

