Vacay recap

Retro chairs in the sun

So our vacation, it was good. (Is there such a thing as a bad vacation? I suppose there is.) As I mentioned the other day, we rented a beach house with J.P.’s mom and his oldest brother and family. In all, there were nine of us. It seems like nine people would really be a house full, but not in this house. It had six bedrooms, 5.5 baths, seven TVs, and wraparound decks on every level. There were rooms in the house that I literally never set foot in, and on the first day it was easy to get disoriented (if not outright lost) on one of its four levels.

Want to see what I mean? Check out the photos. No, I didn’t take these myself–why bother when there are good photos already available?

Other than renting the house itself, we had no plans and no schedule. It was wonderful. On the day that the guys golfed, we girls went shopping in the quaint little town nearby. I didn’t buy anything but I did snap a few photos, including the one above.

Of course, we spent a fair amount of time at the beach. Our house was probably about two blocks away, and it had a golf cart that we could park right at the beach access point. It really came in handy when we hauled our assorted umbrellas, chairs, towels, etc., down to the sand. And Maggie liked it too:

Golf cart excursion

She sat on the floor of the cart and stuck her head out the side. I had to put my leg up just to keep her in. But apparently I didn’t do a very good job, because at one point she jumped out. She was on the retractable leash, and I had it locked on its shortest setting. Generally, that’s a good thing. But when the dog jumps out of a moving vehicle while on a very short leash? Not so good. I let go of it as soon as I could, but she still did a roll or two and got a bit skinned up. Thankfully, it didn’t seem to bother her.

We spent one day at Hammocks Beach State Park. It’s on an island that’s only accessible by boat, and they only allow a specified number of people on the island each day. Here’s a shot to give you an idea how many people were there.

Deserted

And these two were both with us! It reminded J.P. and me of one of the beaches we visited in Hawaii. But the Hawaiian beach required a drive through a sugar cane field and included directions that referenced a monkeypod tree as a landmark. Fortunately, taking the ferry to this beach was a lot easier. I was glad we went there late in the week because we spent about five hours on the beach, and despite slathering sunscreen all over myself I still got burned. In fact, it’s still a little painful three days later.

Our drive home was uneventful except for traffic, of course. It seemed like half the cars on the road had OBX stickers on the back and luggage strapped to the roof. When they finally invent hover cars, I think J.P. will be one of the first in line to buy one.

The vacation wouldn’t be complete without one last adventure. We rented a minivan for the trip, and J.P. and his mom were getting ready to return it today. They went outside, and he made one last sweep through it to be sure we got everything out. Then he shut the back hatch and realized that the keys were locked inside. Back to reality.

12 Responses to “Vacay recap”

  1. Susie Says:

    It all looks wonderful 🙂

  2. Karen Says:

    Oh, my goodness. Sounds like you had fun. What a huge house! And arcade machines in the kids’ room? How cool is that. (For kids, I mean.)

  3. CircusKelli Says:

    Oh wow… that looks (and sounds) fabulous!
    Can I go next time? 🙂

  4. LazyLightning Says:

    Sounds like a wonderful trip (other than the keys thing). That house is amazing!!

  5. shari Says:

    Oooooh, oooooh…. I wanna go too!!!!! CK, shall we bring the circuses with us, or just make it a girls’ trip?

  6. Andrea Says:

    this house wasn’t by chance called Miss Tickle Delight, was it? 10 years ago i vacationed on the outer banks with a bunch of women from church in a house that sounds a lot like what you described. though i guess there are probably lots of other houses like that out there (we were in duck, nc. it was gorgeous and i dream of going back)

  7. Ortizzle Says:

    Sounds like a fab vacation. And locking the keys inside? Oh, well, there’s always a price to pay. (At least he didn’t do what a friend of mine does on a frequent basis: locks the keys inside… with them in the ignition… in other words, with the car RUNNING, LOL!)

  8. undercovermutha Says:

    Ha! Your vacation kicked my vacation’s ass. Did you buy a beach bum wanna-be sticker?

  9. William Says:

    Hey Shark. Looks like fun

  10. Von Krankipantzen Says:

    Sounds perfect. Togetherness with the family but lots of space too. And who knew Maggie was such a stunt pooch?

  11. tysgirl Says:

    Looks like a beautiful place to vacation. I’m kinda jealous- but also very glad you had a good time!

  12. debutaunt Says:

    I need a vacation from my vacation.

    I’m so far behind in my blogging and reading. Guess it’s back to the grind when school starts in a few weeks.

    Lovely photos. I need to post the one I saw of yours. It’s awesome. Keep up the good work! Miss ya! – D


Leave a Reply

