This makes me crazy!

Can you spot the two errors in these paragraphs from a major metropolitan newspaper?

Strib article

Grrrrr . . . don’t they have editors?

14 Responses to “This makes me crazy!”

  1. Andrea Says:

    eluded should be alluded

    compliment should be complement (though it took me longer to catch that)

    that kind of stuff drives me nuts too. i’d be a great copy-editor 🙂

  2. mrtl Says:

    I’ve had too much wine. What stuck out for me besides complement was Nutcracker, which should be underlined or italicized.

  3. shari Says:

    Also, shouldn’t Michelle’s title be capitalized, and what’s with the final sentence?! But, by far, the most irritating errors for me are the misspelled words like “alluding” and “complement” because it’s so clear they just relied on spellcheck.

  4. Sharkey Says:

    The two that I was going for were eluded and compliment. Andrea wins! (If only there were some sort of prize.)

    Mrtl, I agree that Nutcracker should be italicized or underlined, but the way it’s written may be a stylistic standard at the paper.

    Shari, I don’t think you capitalize a job title unless it’s used as part of a person’s name (e.g., Queen Shari). Let’s see . . . here’s a site that explains it (scroll down to the big blue box).

  5. Susie Says:

    Yes, I must compliment Andrea on the fact that those errors did not elude her. I’ve been finding horrendous grammatical errors in LG’s math book. Makes me nuts.

  6. Philosophical Karen Says:

    Yes, those errors stick out like a sore thumb to me. Of course, so do cliches like “stick out like a sore thumb”. 😦

  7. Ortizzle Says:

    Drives me nuts, too. Especially since the media is supposed to set the example. If they can’t get it right, (and aren’t journalists are in the business of writing?), what hope is there for the general public? Instead of having spelling bees to see if nerdy kids who eat encyclopedias for breakfast can spell obscure words such as “appoggiatura,” there ought to be “definition bees” where they are challenged on stating the differences in meaning between, say, “allude” and “elude.” Or “principal” and “principle.” Or “stationery” and “stationary.” :-)))

  8. Von Krankipantzen Says:

    *Make note to self to not EVER become an editor because the mistakes were not noticed until the 3rd read through. Was more focused on wondering if there should have been quote marks.*

  9. JP Says:

    I have no idea what you’re talking about that article looks perfectly fine to me.

  10. carlos Says:

    Thanks for stopping by. Glad that you’re a survivor too. Actually I prefer “cancer conqueror”……

    I see errors like those in professional publications all the time. Books, magazines, newspapers…… It’s just sad I tell ya.

  11. JudePa Says:

    I never would have caught that on my best day (even if “allude” was the word of the day on my Yahoo front page)

  12. Susie Says:

    I got a smile in my mail today. Thank you, Shawkey. I needed it. 🙂

  13. Kristine Says:

    Sorry. I started giggling at ‘Nutcracker’. I’m so a 10 year old boy.

  14. SoozieQ Says:

    Pssst.

    Sharkey.

    Just wanted to say “Hi” and that I hope all is going well. Awfully quiet ’round these part 😉


Leave a Reply

