The Beyonce Experience

Have you seen the header that Beyonce took during one of her recent concerts?

Looks painful, doesn’t it? Know what? It is! Multiple steps not required—a single curb will do. Last week I was walking out of a camera store in suburban St. Louis, and as I headed back to my car I somehow missed the fact that there was a step down between the sidewalk and the parking lot. (Am I the only one spotting a trend here? And here?)

I went down hard on my left knee, and my body continued its rapid descent. I reached out in an attempt to slow my momentum with my hands, but I couldn’t avoid the three-point landing. Finally, my chin met the pavement. All of this happened in the span of about .3 seconds, and I’m sure the sound of my body smacking asphalt and the involuntary “Ooomph!!” sound I made were pretty much simultaneous.

Things I am thankful for:

  • The car that was coming was driving slowly, and was far enough away to stop before running me over.
  • The car’s driver rolled down her window and called out, “Are you okay?!?”
  • I still have all of my teeth.
  • I still have my entire tongue.
  • I didn’t break any bones.
  • I had not purchased any fragile, expensive camera gear.
  • I was able to walk away, and could drive after a few minutes of surveying the damage.
  • The co-worker who picked me up for dinner 15 minutes later was sympathetic and stopped at the grocery store so I could buy an ice pack.
  • Restaurants that serve 22 oz. margaritas. (Said co-worker took me to an excellent Mexican restaurant for dinner after the trauma.)
  • Suzie was not there as a witness.

Now . . . would you like to see the damage?

This is three days post-incident. I can hardly wait ’til it turns green.

Lovely, huh?

15 Responses to “The Beyonce Experience”

  1. soozieq Says:

    I cannot tell a lie.

    I laughed (out loud, no less) just from reading this. I’m beyond sick!! BEYOND SICK!

    I’m so sorry you got hurt, but I am glad that the damage wasn’t worse. That whole biting the tongue thing gives me the heebie jeebies. I worried about that (after the fact) when the Dog almost knocked me unconscious that one time at the Vet’s office.

  2. Susie Says:

    Oh, honey. I’m thankful (on your behalf) for all of the things that you’re thankful for. And I must confess that I’m thankful that other, perfectly healthy people fall down, because it helps me to tell myself that my falls are not necessarily part of WTF, and that’s a good thing. So thanks for that.

  3. tysgirl Says:

    Ouch! I have to say, I’ve never bruised my chin…..that takes talent!

    Soooooo, what did you buy at the camera shop, nosy photography geeks need to know!

  4. Lola Says:

    You know, considering how it could have turned out (broken teeth, stitches, run over by a car, etc.), you didn’t make out too badly… And it didn’t look that bad today :o)

  5. Character Builder Says:

    Niiiiiiiice. I will refrain from saying anything too smart-assy, because you know what they say…Karma’s a bitch! 🙂

  6. Von Krankipantzen Says:

    Oh jeeez! Poor you! I missed a curb, myself, the other day and only twisted my ankle and humiliated myself in front of hundreds of people. No bruises.

    But what a bruise you’ve got yourself along with a great story. Wear it with pride! You are a survivor!

  7. Karen Says:

    Oh dear. I’m sorry for joking around on Flickr. That’s a horrendous story, even though you have things to be thankful for. (And yes, what DID you buy at that camera store?)

  8. CircusKelli Says:

    Oww! Glad you’re ok, and it was only a bruise…

  9. Erin Says:

    Oh, yowie! At least it didn’t split open.

  10. Ern Says:

    (That was me up above. Oops!)

  11. Melanie Says:

    I am so sorry, but this is funny. Not what happened to you, but how you write about it. I am so glad you didnt have anything major happen to you! i.e., broken bones, car hitting you…

  12. Ortizzle Says:

    Been doin’ that all my life. Started off when I was a kid, just walkin’ into walls, and went on from there. (I even dream sometimes that I miss a step when I am walking downstairs.)

  13. MrsDoF Says:

    Yee ouch! such nice motley colors, though. Would make a pretty tie dye shirt.

    So glad the teeth are okay. Husband broke two crowns when the bicycle accident happened.


Leave a Reply

