Jam & Bokeh

Unbelievably good

It’s a good thing my new 50mm f/1.4 lens arrived early last week. (Ask J.P. what happened to my old nifty fifty lens.) I had to try it out, and if I had waited until today to take this photo you probably wouldn’t even be able to tell what color the jam is—there isn’t much left.

J.P. won these preserves in a raffle last week. It was part of a basket of English teas and other goodies, and it was second prize. First prize was $146, and at first I was disappointed that he didn’t win it. But then I tasted the jam, and I think we might’ve gotten the better end of the deal. I’ve been eating it on toast at least once a day since. (Yes, there was a day when I had some for dinner too.) And he’s had it nearly every day as well. The label on this jar says, “By appointment to Her Majesty the Queen,” and we know the reason why.

I don’t know whether we’ll ever be able to go back to Smucker’s, but we definitely can’t go on polishing off a jar a week. I almost wish I hadn’t spotted it in the International section at Wegmans last week.

P.S. Isn’t the lens great? All that nice bokeh means you can’t tell how much crap is in the background.

9 Responses to “Jam & Bokeh”

  1. Ern Says:

    Mmmmm, loganberry.

  2. tysgirl Says:

    I don’t care about the jelly, pass the lens! I’m so jealous. I so want to upgrade my 1.8 to a 1.4! This picture isn’t helping. The bokeh is beautiful!

  3. Susie Says:

    I’ve never had loganberry. I also had never heard the term “bokeh.” But I love the efffect, always have, just didn’t know what it was called. From my film class (motion pictures) back in the day, I learned the term “rack focus,” and that’s what I have sometimes aimed to do, to manually create what I know now as bokeh. My education continues 😉 Thank you, Professor Shawkey.

  4. kalki Says:

    And here I always thought “rack focus” is what happens in a conversation with a guy who’s staring at your chest and not your face….

    That is nice bokeh. We don’t have a 50mm, but are considering one for Christmas. I think this shot just convinced me.

  5. Karen Says:

    I guess I was privileged to grow up on English jam. Blackcurrant jelly is a favourite of mine. Loganberry, however, just doesn’t seem British enough to me. (I’m kidding of course. If the Queen eats it, it must be British.)

    I just complained to Mr. Wonderful that our f/1.7 is not good enough and we should probably get something f/1.4 or better. His response, “What, it’s only like, half a stop at most.”

    I gave him the look.

  6. Lola Says:

    Ah ha, I thought I saw you guys with the basket! Congrats! I was about to tell you that Leslie got everything in the basket at Wegmans, but I see you already figured that out :o)

    Kind of funny that both the first and second prizes went to band members (or their families)… No, the raffle was not rigged at all!

  7. SoozieQ Says:

    I love my 50mm f/1.4 lens, always have…always will.

    Come ON! You have to tell us what happened? Do I have to email J.P. directly to find out? ‘Cause I so totally will, don’t make me! 😉

    Is it anything like the time we met you in FL and he left your memory card in the reader? Nah it *has* to be worse than that!

  8. Melanie Says:

    Well, how much does this stuff costs? I am curious now 🙂

  9. CircusKelli Says:

    Wow… that’s awesome. I have no clue about professional photography, but that is SUCH a clear shot. Wow. You’ve got skeelz, baby.


Leave a Reply

