Friday Feast

What? Did someone say it’s not Christmas anymore? All right, all right. I know I’ve been falling down on the blogging job a lot in the last several months year or so. Usually it doesn’t matter too much, but I can’t stand coming here and still seeing Christmas on January 11. Mags is cute, but it’s time to push her down the page.

The question is, what should I write about? I don’t have any original ideas, but I recently stumbled across a meme site called Friday’s Feast. The site says, “Pull up a chair and dig in! Friday’s Feast is a meme of five questions cooked up by the chef each and every week. Enjoy!”

I thought it looked kinda fun. Let the digging in commence!

Appetizer
What is your middle name? Would you change any of your names if you could? If so, what would you like to be called?

Hey, wait a minute, that’s three questions right there! I guess it’s like a real restaurant—if you have an appetizer, you’re full by the time the main course arrives.

My middle name is Marie. It’s my mom’s middle name, and it was her mom’s too. When I was a kid I didn’t like my first name, but now I guess it’s okay. Even though I didn’t like it, I wouldn’t have changed it. But I know a kid who did just that. His name was Stacy, and he didn’t like having a girl’s name. So in about sixth grade, we came back from summer vacation and he was Steve—he’d legally changed it.

Soup
If you were a fashion designer, which fabrics, colors, and styles would you probably use the most?

A fashion designer? ME? Um yeah, right. Let’s see . . . I would design non-shrinking jeans that are long. I have a really hard time finding jeans in the first place, and then I’m afraid to let them go through the dryer so I’m always pulling them out. I hate hanging up wet clothes, but I hate flood pants even more. Also, Sharkey Jeans would not cause normal women to have muffin tops, and they wouldn’t have that horrendous gap at the back of the waistband.

Salad
What is your least favorite chore, and why?

Hands down, it’s putting laundry away. I don’t mind washing the clothes, and I don’t even mind folding them. But putting them away? Gah! Mostly it’s because J.P.’s side of the closet is crammed so full of stuff that there’s nowhere to put anything. I counted 38 polo/golf shirts one day last fall! Also? I think he has more shoes than I do, and stepping over/on them to get to the drawers and clothes bar is a real pain.

Dessert
Where are you sitting right now? Name 3 things you can see at this moment.

I’m sitting in my usual spot on the couch, with my feet up on the ottoman/coffee table. I sit here so much that the couch now has a semi-permanent ass imprint. I see:

  1. Maggie sleeping in front of the fire.
  2. Conan O’Brien on the new HDTV that J.P. bought with his year-end bonus.
  3. The Christmas decorations that need to come down this weekend.

See? the blog isn’t the only place where Christmas has worn out its welcome.

Posted in Memes. 8 Comments »

8 Responses to “Friday Feast”

  1. tysgirl Says:

    Conan O’Brien?!?! You’re my hero, I can’t stay up that late on a work night!

  2. blurry eyed Says:

    My middle name is Marie, too! And I also detest putting away laundry. There’s probably a basket full of clean, folded clothes sitting in my laundry room as I write.

  3. Character Builder Says:

    I never liked my middle name when I was really young (Maureen–obviously, you new that, but it’s more for the others), but it grew on me and now I like it. But just think–now you have a really cute little girl sharing your name!

    Steve’s (Stacy’s) parents must have had some sort of issues. The other 2 boys in the family were Shane (not too bad), but Leslie was in my class. We all called him Les (or Lester the Molester), but at our class reunion a couple of years ago, he requested that he be called Leslie. Hmmm…

    My least favorite chore is cleaning the bathroom, and if you could see our bathrooms, you’d know that.

    I need to work on getting our Xmas stuff down this weekend too. I know it’s only once a year, but man I hate that job!

    Ok, I’ll leave room for other commenters now. Have a great weekend!

  4. Ern Says:

    Two things:

    1 – Are you sure you weren’t looking in my husband’s closet and not JP’s? I have taken to getting rid of his polo shirts on the sly. His older brothers keep giving him more as hand-me-downs, but newsflash! He’s 30. Time for hand-me-downs to stop.

    2 – Our Christmas tree is still up as well. I’m so glad we’re not the only ones. 🙂

  5. The Q Says:

    I took our Christmas stuff down last Sunday and I can honestly say that I am breathing easier because of it. It was making me sweat every time I walked in the door and still saw all the stuff up. Freak? Me? Yah, you know it.

    My middle name is also Marie. I actually like it because it’s your middle name too. Wait, no. I mean I like it because it’s my Aunt’s middle name too.

  6. MrsDoF Says:

    I would like to change my first name to having an a at the end.
    Ya see, there was a movie star in the mid-1950s whose name was Diana Lynn.
    My dad decided I should have that name.
    In the years since then, I’ve learned she was popular and beautiful, and if you see someone called that, she is probably a Baby-Boomer.
    However, the nurse who filled out the birth certificate spelled it Diane, and Mom signed the paper after a cursory glance.
    I was Diana until I went to public school, where an official copy of my birth certificate was required. That’s when Dad noticed the error. Five years after the writing, he tries to make corrections at some government building, but learned there would be a fee he was unwilling to pay.
    Ever after, I am Diane, except to my next door neighbor growing up, who insisted on calling me Diana and I adored her for it.
    I won’t ever change my last name again. When I got married, I had to change my driver’s license, my chauffeur’s license (for driving the church bus), a nursing license in two states, and social security card. The social security office issued a whole new number, rather than changing only my name.
    It was 8 months after the wedding before all my paperwork was complete.

    No, sirree, I have a name, and I’m staying with it on all documents.

  7. MrsDoF Says:

    More on names,
    my youngest sister’s middle name is Marie, and a cousin’s middle name is Marie. Neither was named after anyone special.
    I’ve always liked Marie as a middle name.

    Stacy Keach is one fine actor, but I can understand why a guy would want to change it.

    There was a male actor name of Dana Andrews.
    I currently know a guy Dana and a girl Dana, a guy Shannon and a girl Shannon, all who are the same ages as my sons.

    When my sons were in elementary school, also attending was a family with 3 daughters–Stephanie, Melanie, and Destanie. Rather cute, I thought.

  8. shari Says:

    Ooooh, I like the image of Maggie in front of the fireplace… it’s cold as the breath of death here tonight! Please don’t tell Mr. E about J.P.’s new HDTV… he’d probably move in with you. 😉


Leave a Reply

