Happy Easter!

Find

Happy Easter! It’s 7:19 PM as I begin this post. Better late than never, right?

My day started at 5:00 AM, as J.P. and I had to sing and I had to play my clarinet at the 7:00 and 9:00 services.

He put the ham in the oven and set it to come on at 8:00. Thankfully it did, and it didn’t burn the house down (Hi Blurry! 😉 ). Our friends arrived around 1:00, and we ate. And ate. And ate. Everything was delicious. The glaze on the ham—brown mustard, brown sugar, bourbon, and crushed ginger snaps—was unbelievable. And also very, very sticky. We have the blackened pan to prove it. Note to self: next time, use a disposable pan. Update: Apparently, we’re slow learners around here. (Read the last few sentences.) I thought that sentence sounded familiar!

As we were finishing up dinner, our 8-year-old guest headed out into the yard to hide eggs for three-year-old M and almost-two year-old J. Then the rest of us went out, and the kiddos had a blast hunting for them.

Now I sit here with J.P., his mom, and Maggie snoozing all around me. I’ve nearly succumbed to The Nap several times myself. But right now I think I hear some leftover ham calling to me from the fridge. Because apparently I didn’t eat enough earlier.

Happy Easter everyone!

Happy Easter!

20 Responses to “Happy Easter!”

  1. tysgirl Says:

    Sounds like a perfect day. It’s 8:05pm and I’m still waiting for Ty to get home from work 😦 He’s been there since 5am.

    I have dinner ready, but it doesn’t sound nearly as good as yours.

    Happy Easter!

  2. certainabsurdity Says:

    That’s a beautiful tulip picture. Do you have tulips coming up? I’m jealous if you do! Happy Easter!

  3. blurry eyed Says:

    Happy Easter! And good work on not burning down the house. 🙂

  4. Sharkey Says:

    Tysgirl, that sucks. I hope you’ll have the rope waiting for him. 🙂

    CA, I WISH we had tulips coming up. This is a bunch from the grocery store that I held out in front of me so I could take the photo with grass in the background!

    Blurry, I couldn’t help thinking of you on our way to church this morning!

  5. Undercovermutha Says:

    Oh, such pretty tulips. Don’t you hate it when you can’t remember useful information you wrote on your blog three years ago? Ha ha! Glad it was delicious. Our Easter dinner was quite delightful, too. Happy Easter!

  6. shari Says:

    Lovely tulip photo!! Happy, hoppy Easter!

  7. Karen Says:

    Happy Easter! Love the tulips.

  8. Ern Says:

    Happy Easter!

  9. CircusKelli Says:

    Happy Easter to you! I love the tulip photo as well!

  10. von Krankipantzen Says:

    Happy belated Easter! More ham today? Sandwiches? Eggs Benedict? Mmmmm…

  11. The Q Says:

    Sounds like a great Easter indeed!

    So you play the clarinet and JP sings? Solo? Do you guys take that act on the road in between church gigs? 😉

  12. MrsDoF Says:

    Storebought tulips are better than no tulips at all.
    The colors are lovely.

    Sunday siesta is a time-honored tradition. You shoulda given in to the nap, especially on a holiday.

    Sounds like a Happy Easter! we were pretty easygoing, but then you already read about that 😉

  13. tysgirl Says:

    Happy happy Birthday!!!

  14. The Q Says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!

  15. oddmix Says:

    Happy Birthday!
    (I didn’t know it was your birthday, but I thought I’d just chime right in)

  16. Big Mama Says:

    Tysgirl told me not to tell you that she spread the word about your birthday…

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

  17. Ortizzle Says:

    Hope you had a Happy Easter. And, apparently, Birthday!

    Love the tulips. One of my favorite flowers.

    P.S. Why do people eat ham at Easter?

  18. william Says:

    Sharkey,
    I sent you an email. Did you get it?

  19. minnesotamom Says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I appreciate your comments!


Leave a Reply

