What’s New

Birthday girl

I almost began this post with an image from a recent maternity session, but then realized that it—along with the title of this post—would probably give you the wrong idea. So I’ll save that photo for later.

Things are good and bad here in Sharkeyville. J.P. and I went to Disney World with Character Builder and her family recently. That’s CB’s daughter above—she turned five while we were there, and was very excited to wear her new Cinderella dress when we had breakfast with the princesses on her birthday.

Vacation was lots of fun. As you may know, WDW is J.P.’s favorite place on the face of the earth. And it was fun to experience it through the kids’ eyes. For a blow-by-blow recap (and tons of photos), click on over to J.P.’s place.

I’ve been experiencing a little flurry of activity with my photography biz. I did two maternity sessions in March, and have already completed one of the newborn sessions. Now I’m just waiting for the little girl below to arrive so I can go spend some time with her.

So that’s the good stuff. Unfortunately, there’s some not-so-good stuff too. I know Character Builder has been planning a post about this, so I *think* it’s okay to mention it here. Last month, her nine-year-old daughter went flying off her scooter and got a concussion. As part of the treatment and diagnosis process, they did a CT scan and discovered a cyst on her brain. It’s not life-threatening, but she will need surgery this summer to drain it. UPDATE: Read the full story over at CB’s.

And speaking of surgery, it sounds like my mom may be in for some more. We learned yesterday that her ovarian cancer has returned. We’re waiting for the results of her CT scan to know the full extent of it.

So if you have some extra good thoughts or prayers that you could send along on my family’s behalf, we’d really appreciate it.

17 Responses to “What’s New”

  1. tysgirl Says:

    😦 I hadn’t heard about your mother, I’m sorry. How much trauma can one family take all at once? Actually that’s a dumb question, we already know you’re as tough as they come!

    I will send you every ounce of good thoughts I have. Oh and here’s a hug too.
    {{{Sharkey}}}

  2. Character Builder Says:

    I love that picture of Lauren, I just might have to frame it!

  3. The Q Says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about your Mom. CB mentioned it to me via email and my stomach sank when I read it. It’s just so UNFAIR!!! Your entire family is in my thoughts. Please keep us posted.

    That is such a great shot of Lauren.

  4. The Q Says:

    P.S. Congrats on all the photography bizniz. YOU ROCK!!!

  5. certainabsurdity Says:

    That’s a great photo! I’ve been checking out the maternity photos on your other thing. They’re very nice. I’ll be thinking of your mom. I hope everything goes well for her.

  6. Susie Says:

    Oh, Shawkey. Such a time. Your good times make me smile (as they have many times recently on flickr) and the troubles here make me . . . pray. I believe all will be well. Please keep us posted. Hugs to you.

  7. Philosophical Karen Says:

    I am so sorry to hear the bad news, but I am happy you had an enjoyable vacation. Your maternity photo dilemma made me laugh.

    Sending all my good thoughts to you and your family.

  8. undercovermutha Says:

    I’m glad that you had a great time at WDW, but I’m terribly sorry to hear about the elder CB progeny and your mom. I’ll keep them both in my thoughts and prayers. The shots are great, I’ll second Soozie’s “You rock!”

  9. Ern Says:

    Extra good thoughts and prayers coming your way.

  10. CircusKelli Says:

    Sending you (and Character Builder) good thoughts and prayers.

    I LOVE your photos! That little girl picture is beautiful!

  11. Ortizzle Says:

    So sorry to hear about your Mom. Prayers are there.

  12. William Says:

    Your family will be in my thoughts and prayers.

  13. mainlinemom Says:

    Hey, I’m deliquent in reading this, but I’m really sorry to hear about your mom and niece. I keep meaning to pick up the phone and call ya about Friday….I DO have a plan and I want to see if you’re good with it…check out http://www.Jonathansamericangrille.com

  14. minnesotamom Says:

    Thanks for your nice comment at my blog today. I will say a prayer for CB’s daughter and your mom. It is so hard to watch a parent go through cancer…

  15. von Krankipantzen Says:

    Oh no! I’m so sorry I’ve been not checking updates recently. I am sorry about all the health news. Major suckage. But I will absolutely be sending healing vibes to your family.

  16. shari Says:

    Goodness, what a rough patch! Sending all good thoughts your way — you can distribute them to the various members of your family as you see fit! 😉 The photo of your niece is SO darling!!! Great face paint, too.

  17. Sarah Says:

    Your niece is adorable… Sending her lots of good thoughts..


Leave a Reply

